Fort James is a ruined fort that looks out to the northern entrance to the harbour of the capital St John's. The fort was started in 1703 when St John's became
larger than both Falmouth and Parham. Fort James is unique, as it is the only fort on the island to still have a full compliment of cannons. Most of the cannons from the other forts
have been sold for scrap.
Although Fort James was never involved with a battle it provided a visual deterrent for French privateers. Especially with it's 10 cannons that were capable of
firing over a one and a half-mile distance.
This is a great place to look around as it cannons give a feeling of just how it was in the past, especially imagining the 11 men around to operate each cannon.
There are good views into St John's harbour and out to sea. There are also nearby bars and restaurants, and a long sandy beach to relax on.
Fort James is only a few minutes from the capital St John's on the northern entrance to the harbour.